Project Focus

Reaction techniques and processing

Targeted variation of the ZIF-8 morphology trough the production in continuous microreaction processes (MeOH 1 micron)
© Fraunhofer ICT Pfinztal

Targeted variation of the ZIF-8 morphology trough the production in continuous microreaction processes (MeOH 1 micron)

Targeted variation of the ZIF-8 morphology trough the production in continuous microreaction processes (NH3-H2O 1 µm)
© Fraunhofer ICT Pfinztal

Targeted variation of the ZIF-8 morphology trough the production in continuous microreaction processes (NH3-H2O 1 µm)

Targeted variation of the ZIF-8 morphology trough the production in continuous microreaction processes (NH3-MeOH 200 nm)
© Fraunhofer ICT Pfinztal

Targeted variation of the ZIF-8 morphology trough the production in continuous microreaction processes (NH3-MeOH 200 nm)

The production of MOF substances, including synthesis and downstream processing, requires further development in order to integrate them into industrial application processes. Here synthesis capacities, yield, raw products and energy costs, safety and waste management play a central role. In addition, production strategies have to be developed which enable flexibility concerning the demand on MOF substances in an industrial scale.

The commercial access of MOF substances and their quantitative availability is currently presenting significant obstacles concerning the further application testing of this promising class of compounds. In the context of the MOF2market project, Fraunhofer ICT is therefore dedicated to issues concerning the reaction and process engineering optimization, the upscaling as well as the economic production of these materials. Thereby, synthesis capacity, yields, raw material and energy costs, safety and environmental performance play a central role. Additionally, production strategies that allow maximum flexibility for the preparation of MOF substances in industrial scale need to be developed.

These tasks constitute an important prerequisite in order to make MOF materials available for the production of demonstrators and semi-finished products and thus transfer the MOF research from the academic basis to successful applications with sustainable industrial interest.

For the synthesis of different MOF substances, usual discontinuous batch production methodologies have been consistently converted in continuous processes. This allows - supported by micro-process engineering components - a much more precise control over mass transport and residence time than in conventional batch reactors. Over several development cycles a significant process improvement has been achieved in terms of throughput, product quality and production costs. Typical synthetic capacities are currently in the kg/d range and the corresponding production costs are <1€/g.

A scalable reactor concept was deliberately chosen with the continuous synthesis approach in microfluidic structures. Throughput increase can be achieved by appropriate parallelization of the reactors while maintaining the selected dimensions and thus the optimized mass and heat transfer conditions as well as the optimized residence time. A classic problem in the upscaling of batch processes, namely the modified surface and volume ratios, is thus avoided.

Furthermore, the continuous processing in microreactors ensures a targeted control of the microscopic (crystal form, particle size) and macroscopic morphology of MOFs, through variation of the reaction and process conditions, providing access to customized products.

Projektschwerpunkte

Reaktions- und Prozesstechniken

Gezielte Variation der ZIF-8 Morphologie bei der Herstellung in kontinuierlich betriebenen Mikroreaktionsprozessen (MeOH 1 µm)
© Foto Fraunhofer ICT Pfinztal

Gezielte Variation der ZIF-8 Morphologie bei der Herstellung in kontinuierlich betriebenen Mikroreaktionsprozessen (MeOH 1 µm)

Gezielte Variation der ZIF-8 Morphologie bei der Herstellung in kontinuierlich betriebenen Mikroreaktionsprozessen (NH3-H2O 1 µm)
© Foto Fraunhofer ICT Pfinztal

Gezielte Variation der ZIF-8 Morphologie bei der Herstellung in kontinuierlich betriebenen Mikroreaktionsprozessen (NH3-H2O 1 µm)

Gezielte Variation der ZIF-8 Morphologie bei der Herstellung in kontinuierlich betriebenen Mikroreaktionsprozessen (NH3-MeOH 200 nm)
© Foto Fraunhofer ICT Pfinztal

Gezielte Variation der ZIF-8 Morphologie bei der Herstellung in kontinuierlich betriebenen Mikroreaktionsprozessen (NH3-MeOH 200 nm)

Die Herstellung von MOF-Substanzen inklusive Synthese und Downstream-Processing muss sowohl für die Integration in ein industrielles Umfeld reaktions- und verfahrenstechnisch als auch ökonomisch fortentwickelt werden. Dabei spielen Synthesekapazitäten, Ausbeuten, Rohstoff- und Energiekosten, Sicherheit und Ökobilanz eine zentrale Rolle. Zudem müssen Herstellungsstrategien entwickelt werden, die eine möglichst flexible Bereitstellung von MOF-Substanzen im technischen Maßstab ermöglichen.

Der kommerzielle Zugang zu MOF-Substanzen und ihre mengenmäßige Verfügbarkeit stellen gegenwärtig entscheidende Hürden für die weitere Anwendungserprobung dieser vielversprechenden Substanzklasse dar. Im Rahmen des MOF2market-Projektes widmet sich das Fraunhofer ICT deshalb den dringlichen Fragen zur reaktions- und verfahrenstechnischen Optimierung von MOF-Synthesen, deren Aufskalierung sowie zur wirtschaftlichen Herstellung von MOF-Substanzen. Dabei spielen Synthesekapazitäten, Ausbeuten, Rohstoff- und Energiekosten, Sicherheit und Ökobilanz eine zentrale Rolle. Zudem müssen Herstellungsstrategien entwickelt werden, die eine möglichst flexible Bereitstellung von MOF-Substanzen im technischen Maßstab ermöglichen.

Die Arbeiten bilden eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um MOF-Materialien für die Herstellung von Demonstratoren und Halbzeugen verfügbar zu machen und damit die MOF-Forschung von den akademischen Grundlagen zu erfolgreichen Anwendungen mit nachhaltigem industriellem Interesse zu überführen.

Für die Synthese unterschiedlicher MOF-Substanzen wird konsequent von einer bis dato diskontinuierlichen Batch-Herstellung auf kontinuierliche Prozessfahrweisen umgestellt. Dies erlaubt – unterstützt durch mikroverfahrenstechnische Komponenten – eine wesentlich genauere Kontrolle über Massentransport und Verweilzeitcharakteristik als in herkömmlichen Batch-Reaktoren. Über mehrere Entwicklungszyklen gelang bislang eine signifikante Prozessoptimierung sowohl im Hinblick auf Durchsatz und Produktqualität als auch Herstellungskosten. Typische Synthesekapazitäten liegen gegenwärtig im kg/d Bereich, die entsprechenden Herstellungskosten liegen bei < 1€/g.

Mit dem kontinuierlichen Syntheseansatz in mikrofluidischen Strukturen wurde bewusst ein skalierbares Reaktorkonzept gewählt. Durchsatzsteigerungen werden durch entsprechende Parallelisierung von Reaktionssträngen unter Erhalt der gewählten Dimensionierungen und damit unter Erhalt von optimierten Stoff- und Wärmetransportbedingungen sowie optimiertem Verweilzeitverhalten realisiert. Ein klassisches Problem bei der Aufskalierung von Batch-Prozessen, nämlich die veränderten Oberflächen- und Volumenverhältnisse, wird damit umgangen.

Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die kontinuierliche Prozessführung in Mikroreaktoren durch Variation der Reaktions- und Prozessbedingungen eine gezielte Beeinflussung der mikroskopischen (Kristallform, Partikelgröße) und makroskopischen Morphologie von MOF-Verbindungen – und bietet damit Zugang zu maßgeschneiderten Produkten.